Two Sydney city workers will set out from Byron Bay in a two-person sea kayak on Sunday, December 20, to take on a 20-day adventure of a lifetime as they paddle down the east coast of Australia to Bondi Beach. 

They’ll be braving big swells, 30-knot winds, reefs, sharks and muscle fatigue this Christmas and New Year as they raise money for charity. 
 
Scott Timbrell from Bondi and Rob Lowe (pictured) from Manly have set themselves the challenge of raising $10,000 for The Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia by paddling a two-person sea kayak along the 740km of coast line.

Scott’s father, Douglas Timbrell, was recently diagnosed with prostate cancer, but due to the skills of doctors at the Sydney hospital, he’s now fit and well and will be shadowing the pair down the coast as they prepare for fundraising events in each town along the way.

Scott Timbrell said: “We’ve been told about sharks and dangerous weather that we’ll have to face on the trip, but it’s nothing compared to being told that your dad has been diagnosed with prostate cancer.

“I thought at the time that I could either sit around and do nothing, or get up and do something about it. So here we are.”

Prostate cancer is a serious but avoidable illness, according to The Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia.

It’s as prevalent as breast cancer is in women, but general awareness of the disease is lower and often diagnosis is made too late. Men over 40 should go to the doctor and ask for a routine check-up.
 
Scott and Rob are relative novices when it comes to sea kayaking. 

Rob said: “Neither of us have ever done anything like this before and training has been tough to fit around our jobs, but we’re on track and are both excited about getting onto the water. 

“We’re looking forward to drumming up some support and funds for prostate cancer in coastal towns along the way.”
 
All equipment has been organised by friends, sponsors and people who support their cause.

Adventurer James Castrission, who achieved the world first trans-Tasman kayak crossing, said: “It’s great to see fellow kayakers getting out there and challenging themselves, whilst at the same time raising funds and awareness for prostate cancer.

“Both Justin (Jones, who made the Tasman crossing with him) and I believe in what Rob and Scott are going out to achieve and will support them in any way that we can. We can only urge you to do the same.”
 
Anyone wishing to follow their journey can visit their www.b2b4prostate.blogspot.com.au website where pictures taken by a waterproof Olympus Tough 1030sw camera, videos and news, will be uploaded along the way.

On the site there is also a link for those wishing to donate money to The Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia.

Schedule:

Byron Bay – Ballina      Saturday 20th Dec
Ballina – Evans Head   Sunday 21st Dec
Evans Head – Yamba     Monday 22nd Dec
Yamba – Minnie Water    Tuesday 23rd Dec
Minnie Water – Coffs Harbour  Wednesday 24th Dec
– REST DAY        Thursday 25th Dec
Coffs Harbour – Nambucca    Friday 26th Dec
Nambucca – Hat Head    Saturday 27th Dec
Hat Head – Port Macquarie    Sunday 28th Dec
– REST DAY         Monday 29th Dec
Port Macquarie – Harrington  Tuesday 30th Dec
Harrington – Forster      Wednesday 31st Dec
Forster – Seal Rocks      Thursday 1st Jan
– REST DAY        Friday 2nd Jan
Seal Rocks – Broughton Island  Saturday 3rd Jan
Broughton Island – Boat Harbour Sunday 4th Jan
Boat Harbour – Newcastle    Monday 5th Jan
Newcastle – Norah Head    Tuesday 6th Jan
Norah Head – Umina     Wednesday 7th Jan
Umina – Manly       Thursday 8th Jan
Manly – Bondi     Friday 9th Jan