The Rudd Government has released the new National Employment Standards, a key element of its modern workplace relations system to come into effect on 1 January 2010.

The Federal Member for Page Janelle Saffin says the new National Employment Standards (NES) will ensure all employees are protected by a strong safety net of fair minimum conditions that can’t be stripped away.

“This is another nail in the coffin of the unfair WorkChoices legislation of the previous government,” she said.

The 10 National Employment Standards are:

  • Maximum weekly hours of work
  • Request for flexible working arrangements
  • Parental leave and related entitlements
  • Annual leave
  • Personal/Carer’s leave and compassionate leave
  • Community service leave
  • Long service leave
  • Public holidays
  • Notice of termination and redundancy pay
  • Fair Work Information Statement.

More detail on the National Employment Standards is available online at

“The legislation giving effect to the Government’s commitment to modern workplace relations will be introduced into Parliament later this year,” Ms Saffin said.

“Under WorkChoices there were only five minimum conditions, and 149 pages of complex detail, whereas the new NES has 10 vital protections for all employees.

“This is a flexible and simple system for employers and ensures employees’ key entitlements are protected.

“The Government released the exposure draft in February, as part of the Transition to Forward With Fairness, and has developed these National Employment Standards after extensive consultation and consideration of the 129 submissions received.”