As expected, grand finalists Byron Bay Red Devils and Grafton Ghosts have dominated selection of the Retravision Northern League Team of the Year.

Byron, who won a thrilling grand final 25-24 at Byron last Sunday, have four players in the team, including halfback Jared De Thierry, who kicked the winning field goal with only minutes remaining in extra time in the premiership decider.

Ghosts have three, including Player of the Year, centre Aaron Hartman.

Although his team didn’t win the major premiership, Ghosts coach Col Speed was named Coach of the Year.

Speed worked magic with the Ghosts this year, taking them from cellar-dwellers last season to minor premiership winners this year.

The team is:

  • Fullback, Shannon Murphy (Cudgen); wingers, Tom Merrit (Byron Bay), Khan Williams (Grafton Ghosts); centres, Aaron Hartman (Grafton Ghosts), Clarence Kelly (Byron Bay); five-eighth, Ben Crawford (Ballina); halfback, Jared De Thierry (Byron Bay); props, Buddy King (Tweed Coast Raiders), Xavier Sullivan (Grafton Rhinos); hooker, Ben White (Murwillumbah Mustangs); second-row, Ben Hill (Byron Bay), Tom Freebody (Grafton Ghosts); lock, Andrew Maroney (Mullumbimby).
  • Coach: Col Speed (Grafton Ghosts).