ASP Australasia Pro Junior Series champion Stuart Kennedy, of Lennox Head, has advanced to round four of the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships at North Narrabeen in Sydney.

On a day when other Australian hopes faltered — Owen Wright and Dean Bowen were eliminated — Kennedy was in great form, beating South Africa’s Nicholas Godfrey to move through to round four where he will face Hawaiian Kai Barger.

Kennedy posted an excellent 8.67 ride mid-heat and went on to win on a heat score of 16.5 to Godfrey on 12.17.

“It’s upsetting to see the Aussie guys go down, but I’m running my own race here,” he said.

“I want to be the ASP World Junior Champion. I don’t try to focus on anything other than achieving my goal.”

The deciding event in the quest for the undisputed ASP World Junior Title, the Billabong ASP World Junior Championship is the paramount junior event on the planet.

Heat 1: Tamaroa McComb (PYF) 15.17 def. Tonino Benson (HAW) 9.66
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) 13.17 def. Klee Strachan (ZAF) 8.73
Heat 3: Alejo Muniz (BRA) 13.00 def. Blake Jones (USA) 8.94
Heat 4: Tanner Gudauskas (USA) 14.67 def. Alex Lima (BRA) 13.00
Heat 5: Lincoln Taylor (AUS) 18.10 def. Rudy Palmboom (ZAF) 11.33
Heat 6: Kiron Jabour (HAW) 8.90 def. Medi Veminardi (REU) 8.90
Heat 7: Granger Larsen (HAW) 16.00 def. Travis Beckmann (USA) 12.14
Heat 8: Jadson Andre (BRA) 14.33 def. Dean Bowen (AUS) 6.00
Heat 9: Maxime Huscenot (REU) 16.67 def. Dusty Payne (HAW) 12.00
Heat 10: Alex Ribeiro (BRA) 16.00 def. Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 13.34
Heat 11: Marc Lacomare (FRA) 16.50 def. Owen Wright (AUS) 12.50
Heat 12: Jayke Sharp (AUS) 12.33 def. Casey Brown (HAW) 9.50
Heat 13: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 13.50 def. Magno Pacheco (BRA) 10.34
Heat 14: Nat Young (USA) 9.23 def. Jatyr Berasaluce (EUK) 9.23
Heat 15: Stuart Kennedy (AUS) 16.50 def. Nicholas Godfrey (ZAF) 12.17
Heat 16: Kai Barger (HAW) 13.17 def. Charles Martin (GLP) 9.84

Heat 1: Tamaroa McComb (PYF) vs. Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 2: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Tanner Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 3: Lincoln Taylor (AUS) vs. Kiron Jabour (HAW)
Heat 4: Granger Larsen (HAW) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 5: Maxime Huscenot (REU) vs. Alex Ribeiro (BRA)
Heat 6: Marc Lacomare (FRA) vs. Jayke Sharp (AUS)
Heat 7: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Nat Young (USA)
Heat 8: Stuart Kennedy (AUS) vs. Kai Barger (HAW)

QF 1: Arini Mason (NZL) vs. Pauline Ado (FRA)
QF 2: Courtney Conlogue (USA) vs. Paige Hareb (NZL)
QF 3: Leila Hurst (HAW) vs. Diana Cristina (BRA)
QF 4: Laura Enever (AUS) vs. Bethany Hamilton (HAW)

PICTURE: Stuart Kennedy in action today at North Narrabeen (Snapps/Covered Images).