Far North Coast Rugby Union representative flanker Dominic Morris has been named NSW Country Rugby Union’s Colts Player of the Year.

The Lismore Rugby Club flanker is in his first year of representative rugby for his Zone and NSW Country, and amassed points in every Country Colts match to claim the trophy.

The announcement was made today, when Country Rugby also announced that Mike Te Moana has created history by becoming the first player to win back-to-back Will Tanner Trophies, and to be named the New South Wales Country Senior Player of the Year.

The Will Tanner Trophy is named in honour of the former Quirindi, Central North and NSW Country player who tragically lost his life in a horse riding accident in the mid nineties.

Te Moana scored maximum points in the Cockatoos’ comprehensive win over the Queensland Country Heelers to edge out prop Liam Vaughan, with lock Tom Cullen and winger Chris Jack tied in third place.

The hard running No 8 from the Armidale Rugby Club in the New England Zone had an outstanding representative season for both the New England Lions in the NSW Country Championships and the NSW Country Cockatoos.

Will Tanner Winners
1998 – James Quinn – Central North
1999 – Rod Petty – Illawarra
2000 – David Lubins – Newcastle Hunter
2001 – James McCormack – Monaro
2002 – Nick Lavelle – Central West
2003 – Anthony Gowing – Central West
2004 – Adam Winter – Central Coast
2005 – Ross Duncan – Western Plains
2006 – Paul Elliott – Central West
2007 – Nick Leseberg – Newcastle Hunter
2008 – Mike Te Moana – New England