Lennox Head are the 2009 Far North Coast Rugby Union major premiers.

The Trojans overcame a half-time deficit of 19-7 to storm home and beat Lismore 28-19 in the grand final at Crozier Field, Lismore, on Saturday, September 12.

The win gave Lennox a second successive major premiership and came after a late-season revival which saw them reverse poor early-season form and win nine successive games, including the grand final.

Lennox Head scored four tries to three, with Matt Aherne, Mathew Barnes, Sam Stewart and Luke Schaefer crossing for five-pointers. Adam Gordon converted all four tries.

Will Cotterill, Keith Morris and Matt Larsson crossed in the first half for Lismore, with Ben Felicioni converting twice.

But it was all Lennox Head in the second half.

Lismore contested all four grand finals, but came away with only one win, a 13-5 triumph over Wollongbar Alstonville in Under-19s.

Ballina won two grand finals: a 39-7 win over Lismore in Reserves, and a 15-6 win over Lismore in Third Grade.

Bangalow took out the Village Competition grand final, beating Yamba 13-8.

First Grade

LENNOX HEAD 28 (Matt Aherne, Sam Stewart, Mathew Barnes, Luke Schaefer tries, Adam Gordon 4 conversions) d LISMORE 19 (Will Cotterill, Keith Morris, Matt Larsson tries, Ben Felicioni 2 conversions). Half-time: Lismore 19 – Lennox Head 7 .
Reserve Grade

BALLINA 39 (Harry Bungate 2, Liam Preston, Brett McLennan, Andrew Gordon, Rick Randall tries, Chris Lynch 2 conversions, penalty goal, Tom Farrell conversion) d LISMORE 7 (Johnson Porykali try, Rick Larsson conversion) . Half- time:  Ballina 22 – Lismore 0.

Under 19

LISMORE 13 (Dominic Morris try, Sam Flynn conversion, Sam Cox penalty goal, drop goal) d WOLLONGBAR ALSTONVILLE 5 (Jarryd Bailey try). Half-time: Lismore 0 – Wollongbar Alstonville 0.

Third Grade

BALLINA 15 (Ben Leon, Grant Clements tries, Paul Lynch conversion, penalty goal) d LISMORE 6 (Mark Sivewright 2 penalty goals).  Half-time: Lismore 6 – Ballina 5.
Village Competition
BANGALOW 10 (Brad Peat, Richard Kelly tries) d YAMBA 8 (Cohen Rheinberger try, Kris Thomsen penalty goal). Half-time: Bangalow 5 – Yamba 5.