Seven Northern NSW players have been selected in an ‘All Stars’ side to take on the 2010 Westfield National Youth Championships for Girls title-holders determined today in the last day of the Coffs Harbour tournament.

Following the conclusion of the remaining pool matches, NSW Metropolitan took out the title in the Under 15 Division, with NSW Metropolitan also winning the Under 17 title.

Northern NSW Under 15 and Under 17 sides finished 2nd and 3rd respectively overall in the Championships. 

To wrap up competition, an ‘All Stars’ side was selected to play the newly crowned National Champions in each age division.

Four Northern NSW players were selected for the Under 15 All Star team – Newcastle’s Isobel Cootes, Adriana Jones and Mikela Howell, as well as Sophie Thomson from Cumbalum on the Far North Coast.

In the Under 17 All Star team, three Newcastle-based Northern NSW players were selected – Sarah Grist, Maddie Searle and Brigitte Holt.

In the final matches of the tournament, the Under 15s NSW Metro side still had enough left in the tank to defeat the All Stars side 1-0.

In the 17s, newly crowned National Champions NSW Country could only manage a late goal in the final seconds to secure a 1-1 draw with the Under 17’s All Stars.