2007-08-cricket-final-149a.jpgTintenbar-East Ballina captain Brett Crawford has confirmed his status as one of the greatest all-rounders to play the game locally after winning his fourth Far North Coast L J Hooker League Cricketer of the Year award.

Crawford polled16 votes to win the award from Alstonville batsman Greg Potter (14), Lennox Head’s Mark Denmeade (13), Cudgen’s Michael Anderson (12) and Souths’ Paul McLean (12).

Workers all-rounder Jeremy Cowin, Tintenbar batsman Phil Dalli and Brunswick-Byron’s Peter Leeson (all 10) also figured prominently in the voting.

Crawford’s previous awards were won in 1997-98, 2003-04 and 2005-06.

He also won the 2007-08 fielding award with 10 catches and the bowling aggregate with 28 wickets.

Crawford’s teammates Phil Dalli and Scott Hogden also picked up awards last night.

Dalli, pictured, who scored a century in the grand final two weeks ago, picked up the batting average with an outstanding 85.17. Dalli won the award in 2000-01 with 45.63.

Hogden made 20 dismissals to pick up the wicketkeeping award.

Ballina Bears batsman Sam Adams won the batting aggregate with 423 runs while Cudgen bowler Michael Anderson claimed the bowling average with 11.21.

Adams, Crawford and Dalli were further honoured by being named in the inaugural Coachcap Team of the Year.

Player of the Year voting:

  • 16 Brett Crawford (Tintenbar)
  • 14 Greg Potter (Alstonville)
  • 13 Mark Denmeade (Lennox Head)
  • 12 Michael Anderson (Cudgen), Paul McLean (Souths)
  • 11 Craig Bonner (Terranora)
  • 10 Jeremy Cowin (Workers), Phil Dalli (Tintenbar), Peter Leeson (Brunswick-Byron) 10.

Coachcap Team of the Year:
Richard Nind, Phil Dalli, Greg Potter, Sam Irvine, Paul McLean, Sam Adams, Jason Fletcher, Brett Crawford, Craig Bonner, Mark Denmeade, Alan Nowlan, Michael Anderson.

Individual awards:
Batting aggregate, Sam Adams (Bears) 423 runs;
Batting average, Phil Dalli (Tintenbar) 85.17;
Bowling aggregate, Brett Crawford (Tintenbar) 28 wickets;
Bowling average, Michael Anderson (Cudgen) 11.21;
Most catches (fieldsman), Brett Crawford (Tintenbar) 10;
Most dismissals (wicketkeeper), Scott Hogden (Tintenbar) 20.

Under-21 Player of the Year: Jeremy Cowin (Workers) 380 runs at 42.22; 18 wickets.