North Coast cricket selectors have announced the Open and Bush Turkeys teams for this season’s representative matches.

The Bush Turkeys team will tour New Zealand in January, while the Open team will travel to the Central Coast on November 29 to defend the NSW Country Cup title they won last year.

Hastings player Billy Newell has been named as captain of the senior team, while star Casino batsman Sam Irvine, who scored a sensational double hundred in last season’s LJ Hooker League grand final, has been chosen as vice-captain.

Myles McDowall will lead the Bush Turkeys, with Coffs Harbour’s Alec Byrnes the vice-captain.

The teams are:
Billy Newell Captain Hastings
Adam Turner Dorrigo
Jon Cook Hastings
Joe Mennie Coffs Harbour
Scott Shephard Casino
Arron Jones Maclean
Sam Irvine V Capt Casino
Matthew Parrish Lismore
Chris Lawry Macksville
Arron Jones Maclean
James Larkin Manning
Kane Hamilton Lismore.

Bush Turkeys:
Arron Jones McLean
Nick Walker Manning
Andrew Lowe Hastings
Craig Rogan Kempsey
Marty Nicholls Kempsey
Alec Byrnes V Capt Coffs Harbour
Jeremy Cowan Lismore
Adam Meades Byron/Brunswick
Myles McDowall Capt Lismore
Jake Lewis Lismore
Joe Willman Coffs Harbour
Kane Hamilton Lismore.