slsfnc-01Byron Bay SLSC has taken out the Newcastle Permanent Surf Life Saving Far North Coast Club of the Year at the branche’s Awards of Excellence.

The club was awarded the prize based on their initiatives and dedication within all areas of Surf Lifesaving.

The ceremony held in Yamba concluded an extremely successful season for the Far North Coast Branch, president John Beasley said.

“The Annual Awards of Excellence gave us an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the outstanding efforts of members throughout the past season,” he said.

tanynLennox Head’s Tanyn Lyndon and Byron Bay’s Shannon Hulbert Green were acknowledged for their excellence, receiving the NRMA Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards.

Lyndon, who claimed the prize for the third consecutive season, was a standout contender for the award after his third straight Australian Iron Man title.

Acknowledged for their dedication and skill as surf lifesavers were Ben Redman (Evans Head-Casino), Stuart Wright (Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore) and Max McRae (Brunswick), who all took out their individual categories in the Lifesaver of
the Year awards.

Redman, an Evans Head local, received the award for his exemplary service both on the beach and through his after-hour callout duties. Redman this past season clocked a total of 104 hours of voluntary patrols.

Brian Lewis was acknowledged with the top honour of the night, taking out the prestigious SLSFNC President’s Award.

Lewis, of Banora Point, received the award for his outstanding efforts in the area of training and education.

“Brian has lifted the standards of training and education in the Branch and is to be commended for his efforts,” John Beasley said.

At a national and State level members were recognised beyond their service to the Branch.

Yamba locals Joe O’Keefe and Greg Levey received Meritorious Awards for a rescue conducted off Yamba in December 2007.

Cudgen Nipper Kaitlin Smith was also acknowledged for winning the Surf Life Saving New South Wales Female Junior Lifesaver of the Year in February this year.

PICTURES: (From left) Stuart Wright, Max McRae and Ben Redman; Tanyn Lyndon.