Netball Associations across New South Wales are putting the final touches on their 2008 State Championship team preparations which commences on Saturday 7 June at 8am.

Ballina Netball Association will field teams in Under-17 Division 2 and Open Division 2, while Brunswick-Byron has entered in the Under-17 Division 2.

“The Netball NSW State Championships are three solid days of netball on the June long weekend, culminating in the presentation of the State champions — not an easy thing to achieve in a game with over 105,000 participants in New South Wales alone,” Netball NSW said.

The State Championships, a Netball NSW event, will be hosted by Baulkham Hills Shire Netball Association in Kellyville with over 1800 participants involved in the event with 1152 games (32,256 minutes) of netball to be played.

The State Championships is one of the four marquee events on the State netball calendar, this event bringing together elite netballers from across the State for three days of tough competition, and some socialising – in one of the worlds’ largest female amateur sporting events.

The event continues to grow each year with 136 teams in 2008, up from 131 in 2007 and 126 in 2006.

This year there are 73 associations competing, 136 teams, in five age divisions, with some divisions needing to be split into championship (equivalent of division 1) and division two or three due to their size.

Results during competition: