Northern NSW Football has introduced a State ‘knockout’ Cup competition for 2010, the NNSWF State Cup.

NNSWF has extended an invitation to all of its member clubs to compete in the competition and it is anticipated that the inaugural title will be hotly contested by teams from the seven zones of NNSW.

The competition is open to all men’s Northern NSW Football Premier Competition Clubs and Senior Zone Member Clubs and will be conducted on a straight knockout basis, with teams competing for a total prize pool of $10,000.

Due to the expansive area covered by Northern NSW Football, the competition will be divided into two pools, the Northern Pool and Southern Pool.

The Northern Pool will comprise of club teams from Mid North Coast Football, North Coast Football, Northern Inland Football and Football Far North Coast.

The Southern Pool will comprise of club teams from Newcastle Football, Macquarie Football, Hunter Valley Football and the NNSW

Premier competitions are the NBN State League and NEWFM 1st Division.

NNSWF Operations Manager Alan Nisbet is pleased to announce the inaugural NNSWF State Cup and predicts the opportunity for lower-division clubs to compete against and knockout teams from higher divisions will be seen as a chance not to be missed. 

“This is a great opportunity for clubs from all levels of competition to test their ability in the cauldron of a knockout competition whilst competing for a total prize purse of $10,000,” Nisbet said.

Key dates subject to number of nominations received:

Round                                                            Date

Nominations and fees due                  Friday 29th January 2010

Round 1 (Northern Zones)                  Saturday 27th March 2010

Round 1 (Southern Zones)                 Wednesday 31st March 2010

Round 2 (All Zones)                            Wednesday 28th April 2010

Round 3 (All Zones)                            Wednesday 26th May 2010

Round 4 (All Zones)                            Wednesday 23rd June 2010

Quarter-Finals                                     Saturday 10th July 2010 (Coffs Harbour)

Semi-Finals                                         Sunday 11th July 2010 (Coffs Harbour)

Cup Final                                             Saturday 7th August 2010 (TBA)